Frickin’ Friday: “The lowest common denominator of Butthurt”

Yeah, that’s how I roll: drunkenly weaving all over the road, like a bumpy melon.

I’m sitting here with a half dozen unfinished entries that all seemed hysterical, poignant, or sheer genius at one point or another, but which, upon further examination, are all excruciatingly lame… except the poignant one. There is no poignant one; I’m just really amused by the spelling of poignant, and like to say “poig-nant” as I type it…

“… love you, man!” – every sloppy drunk, ever

So which one of these orphaned children do you think is worth picking up and flinging at this week’s Frickin’ Friday post?

Really? That one? I don’t… well… OK…

I’ll let you in on a little secret: that’s the one I really wanted to do anyway. That’s why I love you guys; it’s like you can read my mind!

“It is the Universe who makes fun of us all.” – Charlie Crews, Life

Like most folks, I do not like being made fun of by other people, more so if they are pointing and laughing. means you’ve gone outside again Even so, I have no problem making fun of myself. It’s fairly common knowledge that many people will make fun of themselves as a sort of preemptive strike, to ward off potentially worse jokes from someone else. I’m not immune from the use of that particular tactic, now and then. And, although I prefer to have people laughing with me rather than at me, my general desire is to have people laughing.

The exception that proves the rule.

If there is an exception to every rule—and there seems to be–then the exception that proves the rule, “I simply want people to laugh,” is malicious laughter. I do not like malicious laughter.

There are situations in which we all find ourselves laughing when we know we probably shouldn’t be. I don’t think there’s anyone in the U.S. over the age of, say, 25 who wouldn’t have to stop, for just a moment, to chuckle when confronted by some old woman lying on the floor saying, “I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up.”

OMG! You soulless Prick!

Wait! Wait! It’s not like that… there’s that TV ad for some electronic alert system. For those who don’t remember, the ad showed – wait for it – an old woman on the floor, who had supposedly fallen. She looks plaintively at the camera and utters the immortal words, “I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up.” For starters, the scene is blatantly staged. I mean, the woman’s head isn’t bleeding, her feet are both facing in the right direction – there’s just nothing amiss. And that ad campaign went on, and on, and on until it became a parody of itself. Which is to say, at this point and for the foreseeable future, little old ladies will have to endure some involuntary laughter from would-be rescuers, should they find they have indeed fallen, et cetera.

fallenandcantgetup_tag

While the aforementioned little old lady–which term is abbreviated LOL, by the way–would be understandably chagrined at the laughter she would likely receive, I do not believe that laughter would rightly be classified as malicious, rather, it would be laughter born of a cultural inside joke.

No, malicious laughter comes from malice toward others, carried by a subset of humanity that derives, in some strange manner, pleasure from the perceptible discomfort of other creatures. That type of laughter would come from the thug who had used his foot to shove the old lady’s cane, and caused her to fall in the first place. In which case, if the three people who ran over to help the old lady who had fallen then proceeded to beat the snot out of that prick bastard then stood around his bleeding, unconscious body, chanting, “I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up,” then cackling uncontrollably, well, that would be malicious laughter too, but would totally be OK, since it would provide the exception to prove the rule that malicious laughter is wrong!

“They truly know the joy of life, who can laugh at themselves.”
– W. Ned Livingston

The thing is, if (while she was alive) I had found my own mom at the bottom of a set of steps, and she didn’t appear grievously injured, I would probably look at her and say, “… and I can’t get up…”, then we would both giggle like school girls while I helped her up. That’s how I was raised: if you can’t get over yourself, you really have no business laughing at anyone else.

“Butthurt: adj. slang Overly annoyed, bothered or bugged because of a perceived insult; aimlessly offended; having an overly sensitive ego.”
– Wiktionary

George Takei_Butthurt


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in Better Living, Blogging, Frickin' Friday, Relationships, Semi-Serious, Things and Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me some damned feedback!

