… and also, Scout

“Like a dull actor now
I have forgot my part, and I am out,
Even to a full disgrace. ” – William Shakespeare

It seems I misplaced my Big Box O’ Words for a few days. I found it, but it’s going to take some time before I get a bunch of them strung together and making sense. Hey, like my mechanic always says, “Do you want it done fast, or do you want it done right?”

Whenever I tried using that phrase on my (now ex-)wife, she would usually reply, “If only I could count on either…”

Caveat Empty

… roughly translated means, “Beware of balloons,” or something like that.something not at all like that
In all honesty – OK, perhaps not all honesty. My point being, “empty” is not even a Latin word, ask any Latin American I just made that up as a way of saying, in NedSpeak, whenever I refer to a conversation between me and my ex-wife, I will be applying the “grain of truth” principle. Meaning, the part about me having an ex-wife will always be true.

“So long as the memory of certain beloved friends lives in my heart, I shall say that life is good.” – Helen Keller

To that end, I present a brief tribute to my dearly departed buddy, Scout.

2003 Scout
He was a bright and handsome fellow.

Upward Grazing
He was also impatient, and did not always wait for apples to fall out of their trees.

Scout munching
Literally, enjoying the fruits of his labors.

Scout and Ned
We got along tolerably well…

Scout01
… unless I wanted to do something insane, like ride him.
Yes, I am wearing a steel breast plate and saber. We was practicin’ for Medieval demo stuff… well, I was practicing; he was fussing.

Scout&Herd
He was a good kid… Pffft!
Sorry, I couldn’t keep a straight face saying that… he was a horror on four hooves. Once, when I was foolish enough to turn my back to him, he grabbed the bottom of the window frame in his stall door, with his lips (they’re like two big monkey-fingers), and had slid the door half-way open before I recognized the sound!
On days when he actually made me look good while riding him, I would accuse the barn manager of allowing aliens to steal my real horse and replace him with a good one.

Still and all, he was my buddy, and I shall miss him forever.


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Not What I Had Planned, Photo Blogging, Things and Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to … and also, Scout

  1. Farah Evers says:

    This post is like the sweetest thing I’ve read in a while. 🙂 By the way, dig the Medieval outfit. RIP, Scout.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me some damned feedback!

