The way of Aaaaaahh!

YoLoBloMo #7 – This post actually wraps up the first week of the
YoLoBloMo Challenge

“Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell, no!” – John Belushi

This being entry number seven in the YoLoBloMo Challenge, that means it is also the seventh of December. Of course, the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941.

509px-FDR_in_1933
“A date that will live in infamy” – Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Somewhat less well remembered is a certain day in 1853.

Originally, I thought this might be as good a day as any to explain how, in 1853, Commodore Mathew Perry and the “Black Fleet”, representing the United States, really started WW II in the Pacific, then I remembered the reaction I got that time I tried to explain it to one of the local librarians. I can still hear the echos of her yelling, “Are you fucking kidding me?”

It’s great how modern libraries have so much you can do online now…

I also considered how associating myself publicly with that theory might cause little old ladies to cross busy streets just to kick me, and bitch-slapping little old ladies is really frowned upon – in this town anyway – your mileage may vary.

Then I thought I might do another variation on the “Frog and Scorpion” story, but images of having to bitch-slap little old ladies came back…

Then I was going to do this awesome blog about how to make festive hot air balloons out of wrapping paper. I got pretty far into that one before I decided it would have to be a video blog… so you have that to look forward to.

No way can I drop the “My Family Christmas” story this early. That would be madness!

I suppose I could explain some technical thing about using cameras and how to take –

Grumpy-Cat_No

… or the physics of how thermom –

Grumpy-Cat_Hell No

Alright. Photo blog it is…

Sunset Ski SLope
Please click on the photo to see a larger version.

Driving along one night, I noticed that the sodium lights illuminating a nearby ski slope were the same color as a sunset. I decided it would be pretty cool if I could catch the exact moment when the sky and lights were the same color. This one’s pretty damned close.

To get that shot, I stood outside in 20oF (give or take, mostly take) for about 2 and a half hours. In that time, I took 40 shots (thank God and whoever invented digital cameras). You don’t even want to know what it cost me to get that goose to fly over at just the right time…


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in Blogging, NaBloPoMo, Not What I Had Planned, Photo Blogging, Things and Stuff, YoLoBloMo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me some damned feedback!

