The way of the Greek Chorus… and Other Voices

YoLoBloMo #12

“He ne’er is crowned with immortality Who fears to follow where airy voices lead.” – John Keats

Here, Keats is telling the reader: in weird olde English
“Don’t be afraid to listen to that inner voice of creativity.” never met Jeffrey Dahmer

Of course, there are times when, just maybe, you should get a second opinion from a voice outside of your head. you’re out of your head most of the time Jeffrey Dahmer, for example, you don’t say might have benefited… alright, the people around him would seriously have benefited from him getting two or three opinions, just ’cause it’s easier for three people to lock his ass up. ya think?

Jeffrey-dahmer
Jeffrey Dahmer shut the front door!

I think most people have that, so called, silent monologue now and then. you and think – not in the same sentence Actually, it should be now or then, because if you have it now and then, you’re pretty much having it all the time, pretty much and that would not bode well for your state of mind. Jell-O

There are times when your internal process needs help getting its message across, though. I’m listening… For example, the intellectual side of my brain, like everyone else’s brains, not bloody likely contains my speech center, yet never says anything of interest to anyone so that’s the side I have my internal monologue with. you always liked him best!

What about the silent, creative, side of my brain, though? Yeah! If the creative side of my brain had a voice, I think it would probably say something like, you’re a dumb-ass “I think I’d rather be listening to some music right now.” I’m sticking with dumb-ass for the win

Much like the thought process on the “silent side” if you only knew of my brain, characters in Ancient Greek plays would sometimes need to relate their thoughts or the intentions of the gods, so they would use a theatrical “device”, you’re making it sound like a machine, idiot or technique better called a “chorus”. The chorus, as originally used back in Ancient Greece, would sing, dance, and act out now you’re talking the internal monologue of the actor.

Yes, I said actor, singular, who would be playing multiple characters.more and more like home In modern portrayals of the ancient plays, of course, we usually see what appears to be a modern play, with several actors, and the addition of a chorus of maybe 5 or 6 people who speak their lines, just like the actors, but with more gravitas. hey! which one of you gave him that stupid word?

Greek Chorus
Here’s a typical, modern depiction of a Greek chorus. really? Ancient Greeks looked like 5 out of work actors from the Bronx? Sometimes that’s how my brain feels. Hahahahahahahaaa, you have no idea!

In reality, not the TV kind the Ancient Greek chorus consisted of 50 performers and was considered one of the actual characters of the play and, through their music and dance, were probably what kept most of the audience in their seats during an otherwise grim tragedy. how did they know about you? In addition, since they didn’t necessarily represent people, the chorus performers would wear costumes, which were sometimes quite elaborate.

01aantigone

That’s how I feel my internal chorus must look on Monday mornings! dude! you’re killin’ us! Hahaha…
Actually, I like to think of my own “internal chorus” like the Ancient Greeks did theirs. A chorus of 50, though, would get a bit crowded, OMG – you are clueless! but I do think of them as my conscience, guiding me through life. Of course, I think of my “inner chorus” as looking like our modern depiction.


greek-chorus
Think again, Sparky…


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in ... and also, Blogging, Humor, NaBloPoMo, no cats., Things and Stuff, YoLoBloMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The way of the Greek Chorus… and Other Voices

  1. Jody says:

    “so they would use a theatrical “device” you’re making it sound like a machine, idiot”
    Just as an aside, the ancient Greeks actually used a machine in their plays to bring in a god to fix things when they had written themselves into a corner, hence the phrase “deus ex machina”, or God-on-a-Harley (I think).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me some damned feedback!

