The way of the Soviet Military… and Blogging

“Quality means doing it right when no one is looking.” – Henry Ford

I am not exactly a perfectionist, no duh! I’m more like a “pretty-damned-goodist”. Long ago I developed the term, “Fix it ’til it’s worthless.”

“What the hell does that even mean?” you ask, because you refuse to just sit quietly and read. Must be ridiculously frustrating for the people around you.

It means this, my young friend: perfection is so subjective and nebulous, and yet there are people who insist on pursuing it. So they take whatever they’re working on and tweak it. Unsatisfied, they tweak it more. Not quite good enough, though, better tweak it a little more…

*SNAP*

It’s a smashed sculpture on the floor, a canvass covered in smears, a story that has become completely unintelligible, a car that may never run again, a thoroughly fried computer. your resume?

All fixed until they’re worthless.

I know my work can never be perfect,same planet? but I do like to achieve a certain level of quality, even if I’m the only one who will ever see it, whatever it is. that would be ideal

“If I cannot overwhelm with my quality, I will overwhelm with my quantity.” – Emile Zola

I was in the U.S. Military during the days of the Soviet Union. Yes, I’m that frickin’ old… No, I do not know God’s grandmother.

According to briefings I had the joy of attending, the Soviets’ basic tenet was, build a whole butt-load of cheap, easy to fix shit, then throw it into a fan pointed at us. I think they may not have used that wording, exactly, in the briefings…

2010_Moscow_Victory_Day_Parade-31
Coutesy of http://www.kremlin.ru.

Whereas our basic tenet was to build just enough very expensive, high tech, finicky little bitches, and hope they were so good they could shoot all the Soviet shit out of the air before it splattered on us…

767px-AH-64D_Apache_Longbow

Sure, some National Guard and Reserve units would be swimming in shit for a while, but they had all the nasty old stuff the Real Army didn’t want anymore anyway.

800px-Saeqa_IDF_Tanks_Ismailia

“It is quality rather than quantity that matters.” – Lucius Annaeus Seneca

I am not going to participate in any more blogging challenges – not even ones of my own devising. You see, it has finally dawned on me that blogging challenges are like the Soviet Army: doesn’t matter how good your posts are, just keep crankin’ ’em out. So far, blogging challenges are a month long, and in the space of one, maybe two weeks–if you’re very creative and do picture posts–one has run through any good ideas one may have had at that time. That leaves at least two more weeks of Guard and Reserve blog posts, and that makes my happy place very, very small that’s what I’ve heard because, as previously noted, I do not like to “sling shit”. Further, I do not see how the practice of slinging shit improves anyone’s blogging skills.

“Oh, it’s a way to get bloggers used to blogging on a regular basis,” they say.

To which I reply, “Read this, bitches.”

It’s OK, I’ll summarize the relevant points: if you have to be forced, cajoled, or otherwise bullied into posting on your blog regularly, you are not a fucking blogger. Find a hobby you might actually look forward to doing. And if you think it’s serious fun to throw shit at a wall to see if it will stick, guess what..? That’s right, Sparky. I understand there are quite a few Chia Pets you can accumulate without abusing anyone’s intelligence.

“Right actions in the future are the best apologies for bad actions in the past.” – Tryon Edwards

I believe from now on, I shall simply post two or three pretty-damned-good blog entries a week… at the very least I gots to have my, Welcome to a New Week Mondays and Frickin’ Fridays!


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in ... and also, no cats., A to Z Blogging Challenge, Better Living, Blogging, Frickin' Friday, General Writing, Humor, Language, NaBloPoMo, Photo Blogging, Semi-Serious, The A to Z Challenge - Not, Things and Stuff, Welcome to a new week - bitches, YoLoBloMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The way of the Soviet Military… and Blogging

  1. Pingback: The way of Treats! | NedSpeak

Leave me some damned feedback!

