The way of Muse Abuse


Muse – [myooz]
noun
1. Classical Mythology
a. any of a number of sister goddesses, originally given as Aoede (song), Melete (meditation), and Mneme (memory)”
– dictionary.com

What in the world did I do before the internet? paid the equivalent of your monthly cable bill in late book fees

In more modern times, Muses are thought to imbue creative types with, well, creativity.

“Success is fickle, but creativity is a gift.” – Tommy Shaw

I believe it’s quite appropriate for Muses and, therefore, creativity to be characterized as women, given their fickle nature – now wait!
Before all you feminists, and the spineless men you drag around, club me like a baby fur seal, remember – baby fur seal!

Actually, I think of “fickle” as just another word for “adaptable” and being adaptable is a good thing, right?

fick·le – [fik-uhl]
adjective
1. just another word for adaptable, resilient, versatile, flexible: Unlike hard-headed Steve, Mary was fickle, and that was a good thing.

See? If you can’t trust dictionary.com, who can you trust? more like fictionary.bs

“Creativity is what helps me escape a lot of my inner demons.” – Demi Lovato

I like that quote. It’s very insightful. don’t even try, monkey-boy

But there’s that word, “helps”. One may receive a great deal of help with something, and still fail. Thus it is with one’s inner demons; they are quite capable of scaring away one’s creative muses. you bet your ass Sometimes, it doesn’t even require dozens of dastardly demons to send a muse scrambling into a cold-war bomb shelter. Sometimes, it only requires one. Even worse, your muse may actually invite the frickin’ demon in then run away, screaming like a little girl! See? They’re like women. – baby fur seal!

Aaaawww…

Original uploader was Melon247 at en.wikipedia

Original uploader was Melon247 at en.wikipedia

 
“Obsession is a young man’s game, and my only excuse is that I never grew old.” – Michael Caine

I can be quite single-minded, at times, occasionally ravaged by the demon called Obsession we call him Sid. The past six weeks, for example…

Over the last three or four years, I’ve been visited quite often by the Muse of Invention, you mean Rosie and have been designing a machine. Now, this is one of those things that may be incredible, or incredibly embarrassing – and I won’t really know which until it’s built and I see it running. or people see you running So, I’ve spent years developing the basic design for the thing and the time to build it finally came… and it’s too big to build indoors. So before I could even begin to build the actual machine, I had to build a covered work area so I’m not sitting on my thumbs every time it rains. I’ve only got the Summer months to get this thing done. you’re seriously going to finish something? Ha Ha Very Funny, Now Shut Up! what the..?

Wanting to see the end product of her inspiration, my muse invited Obsession in to expedite the building process.

I had to fabricate many of the pieces myself.

I had to fabricate many of the pieces myself.

Since then, I haven’t been able to devote a single creative thought to anything else. hello..? cool. …you’d have to have a single thought As a result, I have not had much of a sense of humor, even we were getting a bit worried concentrating solely on the next step for getting the project finished and tested. no, seriously worried we’d never be able to make wise-cracks again With Obsession stubbornly at the controls, any muses having anything to do with being at all funny or interesting had locked themselves in their room, and they weren’t coming out. Sid is one scary sumbitch!

After a couple of set backs…

Courtesy_Science is Awesome

… they’re bound to happen–late last week, I finished the bulk of the main structure and was able to perform a critical “proof of concept” test, of our patience and it frickin’ worked!

“To succeed in life, you need two things: ignorance and confidence.”
– Mark Twain

Having seen such progress so quickly, Obsession now you’re just being rude to Sid just up and left, now here I am, back at my computer, wasting time. we resemble that remark! Just as it should be.

Where the magic happens.

Where the magic happens.

“… I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic…” – United States Oath of Allegiance

The Oath of Allegiance is typically administered to citizens being “naturalized,” are other countries unnatural or supernatural? and recruits joining the Military. Note the part about “enemies, foreign and domestic.”

The thing is, the demons that terrorize and crush your muses are not always internal; sometimes the demons terrorize from outside your head… like your boss… Just like your internal demons, sometimes your external demons, with just a little effort, may be appeased and will lumber away, back under the bridge from whence they came, leaving you to – that’s enough, Sid is gone and we’re gonna play!

What demons crush your creativity?

Welcome to a New Week, Bitches!


TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in ... and also, no cats., Blogging, General Writing, Humor, Things and Stuff, Welcome to a new week - bitches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me some damned feedback!

