The way of Treats!

“There are some people so addicted to exaggeration that they can’t tell the truth without lying.” – Josh Billings

I have a long and surly history with blogging challenges. My issue with them is simple really; if you are calling yourself a blogger, not exactly what I call you but need some sort of outside influence to motivate you to write blog entries, you are lying.

... and the Lord, God, created the blogging challenge.

… and the Lord, God, created the blogging challenge.

Clearly, for the past several months I have not been a blogger. there is a God!
I think, however, I shall see what I can do to remedy that. Satan lives! I’m certainly not going to subject myself to some sort of ridiculous blogging challenge, God? but I have devised another incentive for me to write a new entry every day. Satan!

It’s October, you see, which is not only the month of my birth, scary damned month but also the month of Halloween!
Every year there is a horror convention, hereabouts, called –

October 17, 18 and 19, 2014 www.rockandshock.com Held @ The Palladium and the DCU Center in Worcester MA

October 17, 18 and 19, 2014
http://www.rockandshock.com
Held @ The Palladium and the DCU Center in Worcester MA

Well, a few days before writing this post, it was pointed out to me that there was a writing contest on the convention’s Facebook page. A two sentence horror story contest, to be specific. So I cruised my ass over to their page to scope it out because even I can finish a story that’s only two frickin’ sentences long! The deadline was 11:00pm that same day. I submitted my story at just about 10:59.59.

“Simplicity is the final achievement. After one has played a vast quantity of notes and more notes, it is simplicity that emerges as the crowning reward of art.” – Frederic Chopin

To answer that nagging question: If I had won, do you honestly think I would not have put, “I won a fucking writing contest!” – Me, bitches! somewhere nearish the top of the damned page? Yeah.

Writing that little story, though, made me realize how much fun can be had in a very short time. I’ve heard you already knew that So, for the rest of the month of October, I’m going to see if I can write a piece of horror flash fiction more like horrible every day and get it posted right around midnight ’cause spooky, bitches!

“A ‘treat’ is different from a ‘reward,’ which must be justified or earned. A treat is a small pleasure or indulgence that we give to ourselves just because we want it. Treats give us greater vitality, which boosts self-control, which helps us maintain our healthy habits. – Gretchen Rubin

Yeah, I have no idea what the hell she’s talking about, but I hope you enjoy my Halloween treats for you. This first one is the one I submitted to the Rock and Shock two sentence horror story contest.

HMS Britanic, image by Stuart Williamson

HMS Britanic, image by Stuart Williamson

Deep Blues

We had been out to sea, so there were untold fathoms above, yet the bulkheads had saved me from a quick, crushing death. Alone in the sealed compartment, it was blacker than black; my only companion, the steady drip, drip, drip from across the room.


NedSpeak: unless otherwise indicated, all contents of this blog are copyright ©2014 W. Ned Livingston, bitches

TIA

About wned2012

Creative thinker & lover of laughter.
This entry was posted in ... and also, no cats., Blogging, General Writing, Things and Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave me some damned feedback!

